--

Wow, absolutely trechourous the things the school children must have gone through. What a shameful part of history. So sad.

As a writer, I find myself constantly striving to write from different perspectives than my own (as a white male). It’s difficult because it’s nearly impossible to understand the intrinsics of the entire inequalities of being a minority. I’m afraid my efforts are even more of a kick to the face. At least when someone is ignorant about the inequalities, minorities can label it as bad character. When a white person is actually trying to be better, there’s probably a disheartening feeling about the gap that needs to still be covered.

Thanks for reading a responding and letting me know it’s not an easy task. And that there are other people trying to understand their own privileges. I appreciate it.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier